Tottenham Hotspur 2-0 Brentford: Jose Mourinho reaches Carabao Cup final


Spread the love

Son Heung-min
Only team-mate Harry Kane (17) has scored more goals among Premier League players in all competitions this season than Son Heung-min (16 – level with Mohamed Salah)

Jose Mourinho reached another Carabao Cup final as his Tottenham side saw off the challenge of Brentford.

Moussa Sissoko’s excellent header and a trademark finish from Son Heung-min were enough for the Premier League favourites to book a trip to Wembley.

Ivan Toney thought he had equalised for the Championship side midway through the second half but his strike was ruled out for offside after a VAR check.

Brentford were a stern test but their disappointing evening was complete when midfielder Josh Dasilva was sent off six minutes from the end for a foul on Pierre-Emile Hojbjerg.

Tottenham, looking for a first trophy since 2008, will play Manchester United or Manchester City at Wembley on 25 April.

Mourinho has won the trophy on four occasions and is the third manager to reach an EFL Cup final with three different clubs.

More to follow.

helpHow to play

Rate players out of 10 throughout or after the game. The rater will close 30 minutes after the final whistle.

Rating range key1 = Give it up10 = Pure perfection

Tottenham Hotspur

  1. Squad number8Player nameWinks
  2. Squad number25Player nameTanganga
  3. Squad number33Player nameDavies
  4. Squad number45Player nameCarlos Vinicius


  1. Squad number1Player nameRaya

  2. Squad number22Player nameDalsgaard

  3. Squad number5Player namePinnock

  4. Squad number29Player nameBech Sørensen

  5. Squad number3Player nameHenry

  6. Squad number14Player nameJosh Dasilva

  7. Squad number27Player nameJanelt

  8. Squad number8Player nameJensen

  9. Squad number19Player nameMbeumo

  10. Squad number17Player nameToney

  11. Squad number7Player nameCanós

  1. Squad number9Player nameEmiliano Marcondes

  2. Squad number15Player nameForss

  3. Squad number24Player nameFosu-Henry



Formation 4-2-3-1

  • 1Lloris
  • 24Aurier
  • 6D Sánchez
  • 15Dier
  • 3ReguilónBooked at 52minsSubstituted forDaviesat 71′minutes
  • 17Sissoko
  • 5HøjbjergSubstituted forTangangaat 86′minutes
  • 27Lucas MouraSubstituted forWinksat 71′minutes
  • 28Ndombele
  • 7Son Heung-MinSubstituted forAlves Moraisat 89′minutes
  • 10Kane


  • 4Alderweireld
  • 8Winks
  • 12Hart
  • 20Alli
  • 23Bergwijn
  • 25Tanganga
  • 33Davies
  • 45Alves Morais
  • 48White


Formation 4-3-3

  • 1Raya
  • 22Dalsgaard
  • 5Pinnock
  • 29Bech Sørensen
  • 3Henry
  • 14DasilvaBooked at 84mins
  • 27JaneltBooked at 18minsSubstituted forMarcondesat 74′minutes
  • 8Jensen
  • 19MbeumoBooked at 51minsSubstituted forForssat 81′minutes
  • 17Toney
  • 7CanósBooked at 14minsSubstituted forFosu-Henryat 74′minutes


  • 9Marcondes
  • 15Forss
  • 20Ghoddos
  • 24Fosu-Henry
  • 28Daniels
  • 30Rasmussen
  • 36Stevens
  • 37Gilbert
  • 38Haygarth

Live Text

Around the BBC - SoundsAround the BBC footer - Sounds

About Frank Rideout